“Tuscan-esque” Roasted Sausages and Vegetables

“Tuscan-esque” Roasted Sausages and Vegetable

This is the reason I’ve started my blog… I want to win the To Tuscany competition!

I’ve been off work with hand injures for 8 months now and haven’t been able to cook much over the time, I’ve relied on the Hubby to do exactly as he’s told in the kitchen whilst I direct as any good Executive Chef does, swooping it to season and add secret ingredients, thankfully there hasn’t been many disasters! He’s very obediently typing for me right now, hopefully I’ll be able to type on here myself one day!

The dish I decided on for the Tuscany competition is a vibrantly colourful simple yet delicious for which Tuscan food is well-known for. It’s a recipe which I have adapted over the past few years, I think to showcases one of the best ways to use roasted vegetables given what I’ve read about Tuscan food I would say this is something that wouldn’t look out-of-place on an Italian family dinner table. It’s a firm favourite in our house and for all the guests who have visited! It’s so easy to prepare and most of it could be done ahead of time if you want something to be ready to put in the oven after a day at work. The sausages and vegetables are both sweet from roasting but with a hint of a tang from the balsamic vinegar added towards the end of cooking. It has masses of flavour, from local bred meat sausages, vegetables from the market, the best olive oil I can afford to the fresh herbs grown in pots in my back yard and with all the vegetables in it it’s got to at count for some of our 5 a day!!

Each time I eat this I imagine I am sitting on the porch of an Italian Villa by an olive grove watching to sunset with a bowl of the Roasted Sausages & Vegetables, a chunk of fresh-baked bread and a glass of Chianti.

Anyway here’s the recipe….

Serves 4

Ingredients

10-12 Really good quality Sausages (I like Italian sausages or traditional pork but the Hubby is quite partial to Pork, Tomato & Basil)

2 Red bell peppers deseeded and cut into chunks (medium to large size)

2 Orange bell peppers deseeded and cut into chunks (medium to large size)

2 Yellow bell peppers deseeded and cut into chunks (medium to large size)

3 Red onions peeled and quartered (medium size)

2 Courgettes cut into thick slices

2 Cloves of garlic roughly chopped

1 tablespoon of fresh Rosemary chopped

1 dessertspoon of fresh Thyme leaves

2-3 tablespoons of Olive oil

Salt & fresh ground black pepper

400g Cherry tomatoes cut in half – I like to use a mix red cherry and golden mini plum tomatoes

3 tablespoons of Balsamic Vinegar

Fresh Oregano or Basil and a drizzle of good quality olive oil for garnish

100g piece of good quality Parmesan

Method.

1. Pre-heat the oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6

2. Place the peppers, onions, courgettes, garlic, rosemary, thyme and half the olive oil in a roasting tin season with salt and pepper then toss together. Roast in the oven for 10-15 minutes.

3. Remove the roasting tin from the oven and place the sausages on top of the vegetables drizzle the remaining olive oil and return to the oven for 20-25 minutes turn the sausages after 15 minutes.

4. After the 20-25 minutes take the tin out again scatter the tomatoes over the sausages and vegetables and drizzle the balsamic vinegar over then return to the oven for another 10-15 minutes and cook until the tomatoes are softened but not mushy.

5. Serve in a large bowl with shavings of Parmesan, Oregano or Basil leaves and another drizzle of Olive Oil along with chunks of rustic bread to mop up the delicious tangy/sweets juices and of course a glass of Chianti!

A couple of things I’d like to add is that the times and oven temp are what works for my oven. So please be aware and keep a close eye on it (also the Hubby tends to like an amount of the “caramelised” element!)
Also theres plenty of scope for adding more variety of vegetables. I sometimes play around and add different seasonal vegetables.

all we need now is a Tuscan view!

Thanks for reading my first Blog… I will try to do more in the future and hopefully I’ll type them myself! xx

Leave a Reply

